Only a Paper Moon

Standard
Cover of "Paper Moon"

Cover of Paper Moon

I’m definitely no cineaste, but the films I do love, I usually watch over and over again. One of my favorite films was just on Film 4 and I was reminded how great is – Paper Moon. It came out the year of my birth which partially explains why I have such an attachment to it. Also, I’ve been obsessing a lot lately over the 1920s/30s. The Jazz Age, Art Deco, dust bowl Americana, hedonistic Paris and Berlin – you name it. I think I remember reading somewhere that there was a resurgence of interest in the 20s/30s during the late 60s/70s, as typified by films like Bonnie and Clyde, The Sting (a film I’m always surprised George Clooney and Brad Pitt haven’t remade yet, though Paul Newman and Robert Redford would be tough to beat!) and of course, Paper Moon. All fantastic films!

Anyway, I love this bit from Paper Moon. Tatum O’Neal totally deserved that Oscar at age 10!

Follow me on twitter.

One response »

Leave a comment