Moneygall’s Finest

Standard

My problem with videos like the one President Obama’s people released this week is that they’re most likely appreciated only by those who are already drinking out of the same punch bowl. Supposedly, it’s targeted to the independents, but I don’t know. People are so cynical these days I’m not sure if a campaign video narrated by Tom Hanks will do the trick. Actually, it’s probably more for those people who aren’t independents but just feel disappointed by the last four years. I don’t know what planet those people live on (obviously one where it’s both your birthday and Christmas everyday), but to that group, I say patience is a virtue. If you have any doubt about that, read Andrew Sullivan’s piece in Newsweek. We need more foresight, less short term gratification. It’s like my dad’s attitude towards the stock market: don’t get blustered by short term losses, just ride it out and ultimately the ship will right itself. I know that’s hard for a lot of folks (including me), but it is about the long game – one not too many of us play these days.

But hey, we can always try. So I give you The Road We’ve Traveled. It inspired me, but let’s face it, I’m already in the choir.

Since it’s St. Patrick’s Day I’m also posting a link to President Obama’s speech in Dublin last year. O’Bama!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day.

Leave a Reply

